Wednesday, December 26, 2007

2007 Raiderette Awards 

Posted by Sasha at 9:12 PM ET

By Sarah Irvin
December 21, 2007

The Oakland Raiderettes are pleased to announce the 2007 Raiderette Award recipients. The ceremony took place during halftime at McAfee Coliseum as the Raiders hosted the Indianapolis Colts. Dancers of the Year awards are chosen by Raiderette Director Karen Kovac and Assistant Choreographer Laura Jollay, while Rookie and Raiderette of the Year selection involves the Raiderette squad as well.

Dancer of the Year awards are presented to two of Football’s Fabulous Females. The Dancer of the Year represents the Raiderettes who consistently give a 100 percent effort during rehearsals both before and during the season. They are the most vibrant dancers on the field and always hit the right steps. This year’s Dancers of the Year are Alyssa and April, both second-year Raiderettes.

Rookie of the Year is an award given to a first-year Raiderette who shows her commitment to the team by always being enthusiastic. This year’s Rookie of the Year award went to Kathleen.

Raiderette of the Year honors the squad member who fully embodies the mission of the Raiderettes. The Raiderettes strive to remain active in the community as well as represent themselves with pride both on and off the field. This year’s Raiderette of the Year is veteran Jennifer G.

As Raiderette of the Year, Jennifer G. will have the privilege of representing Football’s Fabulous Females at the 2008 NFL Pro Bowl in Honolulu, Hawaii. The trip will require her to attend corporate, NFL and charity events all week long as well as learn a new dance routine with cheerleaders from each of the other 31 NFL teams. The group will then perform during the game and at halftime.

“It is a week of a lot of work but is very rewarding and memorable for each participant who goes home with new friends from all over the country,” Kovac said.

Labels: , ,