Thursday, August 09, 2007

"FSN Sonics Dance Team Showdown" Closes Out 2007-08 Auditions 

Posted by Sasha at 10:15 PM ET

SportsFeatures.com SEATTLE, Tuesday, Aug. 7, 2007 – The Seattle SuperSonics today announced the one-versus-one "Showdown" match-ups that will determine the final 4 spots on the 2007-08 Sonics Dance Team. Beginning tonight on the Seattle Mariners post-game show on FSN, the Sonics broadcast partner will introduce viewers to two finalists competing for one spot on next season's Dance Team. Viewers will be encouraged to cast their vote during a 24-hour window at www.supersonics.com. Following the online voting period, overall scoring will be tabulated and a winner will be revealed on the next designated FSN Mariners post-game show (schedule below).

Complete "FSN Sonics Dance Team Showdown" Schedule:
Tuesday, August 7 = MICHELLE vs. PILITA
Wednesday, August 8 = announcement of 1st winner; CHANDLER vs. KRISTA
Friday, August 10 = announcement of 2nd winner; AMY vs. WHITNEY
Monday, August 13 = announcement of 3rd winner; AMANDA vs. ASHLEY
Tuesday, August 14 = announcement of 4th (and final) winner

The first 11 members of the 2007-08 squad were selected by Sonics Dance Team Manager Sabrina Chaudhry following the July 21 open audition and subsequent finalist rehearsals. The first 11 Dance Team members are: 7th-year member Kelly; 4th-year members Abby, Monae & Staci; 3rd-year members Jillian & Sheena; 2nd-year members Denee', Kelsey, Latoyia & Laura; and 1st-year member Megan.

Showdown finalists face judging in three different equally-weighted methods: majority online vote at supersonics.com; the vote of the Manager; and the majority vote of the celebrity judges panel. Celebrity judges include Sonics legend Slick Watts, Seattle Storm players Tanisha Wright & Katie Gearlds, "Seattle's Luckiest Fan" contest winner Garrick Jones, original Sonics Dance Team Manager Nancy Doorn, 99.9 FM KISW morning show talent "Topshelf" and 100.7 FM "The Wolf" morning show host Fitz.

Labels: , ,